How I got selected in WOC 3.0 !

How I got selected in WOC 3.0 !

I came to know about the Winter of Code 3.0 from Twitter. I saw this post on Twitter that IIIT Kalyani is organizing an event Winter of Code 3.0 where more than seven countries are involved several organizations are participating and so I thought of participating in this event. I went to youtube and there I searched for How to work upon this. According to the guidelines I started contributing in randomly to any organization.

#Selecting my WOC 3.0 Organization

The WOC 3.0 2023 organizations were announced on 10 December 2022, at 11:30 PM IST. I started looking for organizations for working on those projects. I got intrigued by the projects announced by three organizations – Codefamily, Devscript and Winter of Code's official website. The reason for selecting these organizations are as follows:

GitHub

I had been actively contributing to Devscript for quite some time. I even started contributing to the Winter of Code 3.0 official website on Github because I wanted to experience what it feels like to work on small things like solving the bugs and issues which are there in the GitHub issues. In the Code family ideas list, they mentioned a project which allowed me to work on the official website. The following points are just to brag about my contributions to Github:

  • Devscript

    • I have been contributing on Devscript like I have contributed Linux commands, Spam-mail-prediction.

    • Linux commands will help beginners to start with Linux.

    • Spam mail prediction was a project which is based on machine learning so it will help people to exactly know that their mail is either spam or ham.

    • The maintainers of Devscript are very helpful. They helped me a lot. You can also start contributing if you wish to contribute to this organization here is the link Code-Khata

  • Winter of Code 3.0

    • I have fixed the bugs and fixed some broken links which I have seen that is not been opening

    • So that people can refer to those links without facing any issues.

Once I was done selecting the orgs, it was time to understand the projects!!

Then on 16th January 2023 at 9.47 PM IST, I came to know that my application got selected I will be writing a proposal for them. I realized I don't have enough time to write the proposal. If my proposal got selected then I am looking forward to working with organization in which I will be selected with my amazing mentors.

Happy Coding!